Las Vegas Sun

November 19, 2018

Currently: 59° — Complete forecast

Raggio, Dini win easily in North

CARSON CITY -- Legislative incumbents from Northern Nevada all swept to victory, Carson City elected a new mayor and four school construction bond issues were defeated.

Sen. Bill Raggio, R-Reno, expected to be chosen again as majority leader in the Senate, and Assemblyman Joe Dini, D-Yerington, projected as the speaker of the Assembly, won easy re-election victories Tuesday.

Raggio, 70, who has served since 1972, beat Independent American Party candidate Brooks Holcomb 77-23 percent. Dini, first elected in 1966, defeated Merritt Yochum, also an Independent American, by the same margin.

Ray Masayko, a retired executive from Sierra Pacific Power Co., was elected mayor of Carson City, defeating former newspaper editor Patt Quinn-Davis 51-49 percent. Masayko succeeds Marv Texeira, who did not seek a third term.

Former madam loses

Shirley Colletti, former manager of a house of prostitution, was defeated in her bid for a third term on the Storey County Commission by Carl Trink 969-660. Colletti had been criticized for spending too much of her time in Las Vegas.

Storey County voters also turned down an $8 million school bond. A $48 million school bond issue in Carson City was handily defeated 56-44 percent.

Voters in Eureka County rejected a plan for a property tax increase of up to 15 cents per $100 of assessed valuation for school construction by 63-37 percent. Voters in Elko County voted 54-46 percent against a $45 million school bond.

In the legislative races in Washoe County, Republican incumbent Peter Ernaut, who was co-majority leader in the Assembly in 1995, rolled over Brooke Houghton, a Democrat by a 4-1 margin in Washoe County and Carson City.

Democratic Assemblywoman Vivian Freeman of Reno won a sixth term, defeating William "Buzz" Harris 55-45 percent in District 24. Republican Assemblyman David Humke rolled to an easy victory for his eighth term, beating Independent American Daniel Nightingale.

Democrat Jan Evans of Sparks won a seventh term in District 30, beating Republican Keith Primus 53-43 percent, with Independent American Francis Gillings capturing 4 percent. Incumbent Democrat Bernie Anderson, also of Sparks, easily defeated Dwight Millard 62-38 percent.

Truck driver rumbles

Republican Don Gustavson, a truck driver and a Republican, won election in Assembly District 32, defeating Democrat Gail Scalzi 50-46 percent, with Libertarian Kent Cromwell getting 4 percent. Gustavson beat Republican incumbent Pat Tripple in the primary election.

Republican businessman Pat Hickey won election to Assembly District 27, beating Democrat Bonnie Schultz 48-45 percent. This is the seat vacated by Republican Thomas Batten. Carolyn Nelson of the Independent American Party got 3 percent as did Libertarian Brendan Trainor.

Republicans Brian Sandoval and Joan Lambert were unopposed for re-election in Washoe County.

In rural Nevada, Sen. Dean Rhoads, R-Tuscarora, coasted to a 4-1 victory over fellow Republican Ed Presley in the Northern Nevada Senate District. The race did not draw a Democratic challenger. It covers Elko, Humboldt and Pershing counties and parts of Eureka and Lander counties.

Republican incumbent Mike McGinness of Fallon won a third term in the Central Nevada Senatorial District over Democrat Rick Lawton. The district covers Churchill, Esmeralda, Lincoln, Mineral, Nye and White Pine counties and parts of Eureka and Lander counties.

Assemblywoman Marcia de Braga of Fallon won a re-match against Republican Shirley Walker in District 35. The final tally was 5,565-5,424. This will be the third term for De Braga in the district that covers Churchill and White Pine counties and parts of Eureka and Lander counties.

Neighbors victorious

Incumbent Democrat Roy Neighbors of Tonopah won a third term, beating Republican Del Haas of Round Mountain in District 36 that covers Esmeralda, Lincoln, Mineral and Nye counties.

Elko Assemblyman John Carpenter, a Republican, won re-election, whipping Democrat Michael Smith 69-31 percent in District 33 that covers most of Elko County. Republican Mark Amodei, a Carson City lawyer, beat Democrat Stephen Thompson, a Democratic 59-41 percent in Carson City to succeed Republican Tom Fettic, who did not seek re-election.

Republican incumbents Lynn Hettrick of Gardnerville and John Marvel of Battle Mountain were unopposed.

Two incumbent district judges in Northern Nevada were knocked out. Steve Elliott defeated District Judge Jim Stone 59-41 percent in Washoe County. And Mike Memeo, a deputy district attorney in Elko County, rolled over incumbent District Judge Thomas Stringfield 67-33 percent.