Las Vegas Sun

August 23, 2019

Currently: 94° — Complete forecast

ESPY Award Winners

NEW YORK -- The winners of the fifth annual ESPY awards presented Monday at Radio City Music Hall.

Breakthrough Athlete Of The Year - Tiger Woods, golf.

Comeback Athlete Of The Year - Evander Holyfield, boxing.

Outstanding Female Athlete Of The Year - Amy Van Dyken, Olympic swimming.

Outstanding Male Athlete Of The Year - Michael Johnson, Olympic track and field.

Outstanding Performance Under Pressure - Kerri Strug, Olympic gymnastics.

Coach-Manager Of The Year - Joe Torre, New York Yankees.

Outstanding Team Of The Year - New York Yankees.


All For 1996 Except Where Noted

Major League Baseball - Ken Caminiti, San Diego Padres.

NFL Football (1996-97) - Brett Favre, Green Bay Packers.

NBA Basketball (1995-96) - Michael Jordan, Chicago Bulls.

NHL Hockey (1995-96) - Joe Sakic, Colorado Avalanche.

NCAA Division I Football - Danny Wuerffel, Florida.

NCAA Division I Men's Basketball (1995-96) - Tim Duncan, Wake Forest.

NCAA Division I Women's Basketball (1995-96) - Saudia Roundtree, Georgia.

Men's Golf - Mark Brooks; Tom Lehman.

Women's Golf - Karrie Webb.

Men's Tennis - Pete Sampras.

Women's Tennis - Steffi Graf.

Auto Racing - Jimmy Vasser, CART.

Men's Track And Field - Michael Johnson.

Women's Track And Field - Marie-Jose Perec.

Boxing - Evander Holyfield.

Jockey - Jerry Bailey.

Men's Bowling - Bob Learn, Jr.


NHL Play of the Year - Detroit's Steve Yzerman's overtime goal in a scoreless Game 7 vs. St. Louis.

College Basketball Play of the Year - Tulane's Jerald Honeycutt's falling out-of-bounds game-winner vs. Florida State.

NBA Play of the Year - Phoenix's Michael Finley steals and scores in mid-air.

Baseball Play of the Year - San Diego's Ken Caminiti makes a backhand grab and a great throw to first.

College Football Play of the Year - Memphis' Kevin Cobb doesn't fall, scoring on a kickoff vs. Tennessee

NFL Play of the Year - Green Bay's Desmond Howard scores on a 99-yard kicoff return in the Super Bowl.

Showstopper of the Year - LSU's Warren Morris wins the College World Series with a ninth-inning home run.

Dramatic Individual Performance of the Year - Evander Holyfield beats Mike Tyson for the heavyweight title.

Outrageous Play of the Year - Michigan's Mike Legg scores a remarkable goal from behind the net.

Game of the Year - Ohio State edges Arizona State in the Rose Bowl.