Las Vegas Sun

November 20, 2017

Currently: 54° — Complete forecast

Candidates’ eligibility could confuse voters

There are seven state seats, two federal and three county positions that govern the Summerlin area that are being contested on the Aug. 12 Nevada primary ballot.

The ballots were printed before a July 25 ruling from the state Supreme Court that upheld the term limits of county Commissioner Bruce Woodbury, university Regent Thalia Dondero and Clark County School Board members Ruth Johnson and Mary Beth Scow. Their names will appear on the primary ballots, but not the Nov. 4 general election ballot. The Secretary of State will post signs at precincts to remind voters.

Only Woodbury is in a partisan election. Should he receive the most votes in the primary, the county GOP Central Committee would nominate the candidate.

A primary election is a nominating election. Registered voters select the Democratic, Republican and nonpartisan candidates who will run for office in the general election to be held Nov. 4 this year.

Nevada has closed primary elections, meaning only registered Democrats and Republicans may vote in partisan contests, but all registered voters may vote in nonpartisan contests.

For a complete sample ballot, visit the Clark County Elections Department on the Web.

Jeff Pope can be reached at 990-2688 or [email protected]

Join the Discussion:

Check this out for a full explanation of our conversion to the LiveFyre commenting system and instructions on how to sign up for an account.

Full comments policy