Las Vegas Sun

Currently: 72° | Complete forecast |

2010 World MMA Awards results

Jose Aldo, ‘Cyborg’ Santos, Randy Couture win top honors

The 2010 World MMA Awards took place inside The Pearl at The Palms on Wednesday.

Guests of honor included UFC President Dana White, actor Pauly Shore, actor Mike Epps, MTV star Steve-O, reality actress Angel Porrino and former NFL wide receiver Jerry Rice, among others.

The show honors standout performances and companies in mixed martial arts during the past year. It’s hosted by Fighters Only magazine and all voting is fan-based.

It will re-air on the VERSUS network at 10 p.m. ET/PT on Dec. 9.

Below is a list of the night’s winners.

Referee of the Year: Herb Dean

Best Technical Clothing Brand: Bad Boy

Best Technical Equipment Brand: Everlast

Best Lifestyle Clothing Brand: Tapout

Media Source of the Year:

Best Promotion: UFC

Gym of the Year: Wand Fight Team

MMA Journalist of the Year: Ariel Helwani

Coach of the Year: Greg Jackson

Ring Girl of the Year: Arianny Celeste

Leading Man of the Year: Dana White

Most Memorable Ring Entrance: Jason "Mayhem" Miller

Submission of the Year: Fabricio Werdum vs. Fedor Emelianenko

Knockout of the Year: Mauricio "Shogun" Rua vs. Lyoto Machida

International Fighter of the Year: Alistair Overeem

Breakthrough Fighter of the Year: Jon Jones

Fight of the Year: Anderson Silva vs. Chael Sonnen; UFC 117

Outstanding Contribution to MMA: Randy Couture

Female Fighter of the Year: Cristiane "Cyborg" Santos

Charles "Mask" Lewis Fighter of the Year: Jose Aldo

Brett Okamoto can be reached at 948-7817 or [email protected]. Follow him on Twitter at LVSunFighting

Join the Discussion:

Check this out for a full explanation of our conversion to the LiveFyre commenting system and instructions on how to sign up for an account.

Full comments policy