Las Vegas Sun

January 16, 2018

Currently: 54° — Complete forecast

The NFR Inside Out :

NFR Blog Day 4: Full results from Saturday night’s round


Courtesy photo/ Spin to Win Rodeo Magazine

Mary Walker takes the stage to accept her third consecutive buckle for barrel racing Saturday night following Round 3 action at the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo in Las Vegas.

Updated Sunday, Dec. 9, 2012 | 7:21 p.m.

Editor’s note: This blog is a compilation of posts from Chelsea Toy of "Spin to Win Rodeo Magazine" to the magazine's Facebook page.

(Posted 4:07 p.m.)

Full Round 3 results:

Bareback riding: 1. Will Lowe, Canyon, Texas, 88 points on Flying U Rodeo's Comanchero, $18,257; 2. Jessy Davis, Power, Mont., 84.5, $14,429; 3. (tie) Kaycee Feild, Payson, Utah; J.R. Vezain, Cowley, Wyo., and Matt Bright, Azle, Texas, 83, $7,754 each; 6. Steven Peebles, Redmond, Ore., 81, $2,945; 7. Steven Dent, Mullen, Neb., 79.5; 8. Wes Stevenson, Lubbock, Texas, 78.5; 9. (tie) Bobby Mote, Stephenville, Texas, and Brian Bain, Culver, Ore., 78 each; 11. Jared Keylon, Uniontown, Kan., 77; 12. Winn Ratliff, Leesville, La., 76.5; 13. Justin McDaniel, Porum, Okla., 75; 14. Caleb Bennett, Morgan, Utah, 73.5; 15. Casey Colletti, Pueblo, Colo., NS.

Steer wrestling: 1. Wade Sumpter, Fowler, Colo., 3.6 seconds, $18,257; 2. (tie) Billy Bugenig, Ferndale, Calif., and Bray Armes, Gruver, Texas, 3.8, $12,662 each; 4. (tie) Luke Branquinho, Los Alamos, Calif., and Matt Reeves, Cross Plains, Texas, 3.9, $6,184 each; 6. Casey Martin, Sulphur, La., 4.0, $2,945; 7. Trevor Knowles, Mount Vernon, Ore., 4.1; 8. (tie) K.C. Jones, Decatur, Texas, and Tom Lewis, Lehi, Utah, 4.6 each; 10. (tie) Dean Gorsuch, Gering, Neb., and Les Shepperson, Midwest, Wyo., 4.7 each; 12. Beau Clark, Belgrade, Mont., 5.4; 13. Gabe Ledoux, Kaplan, La., 6.1; 14. Ethen Thouvenell, Napa, Calif., 13.8; 15. Todd Suhn, Hermosa, S.D., NT.

Team roping: 1. Erich Rogers, Round Rock, Ariz./Kory Koontz, Sudan, Texas, 3.9 seconds, $18,257 each; 2. Trevor Brazile, Decatur, Texas/Patrick Smith, Lipan, Texas, 4.0, $14,429; 3. Kaleb Driggers, Albany, Ga./Jade Corkill, Fallon, Nev., 4.3, $10,895; 4. Derrick Begay, Seba Dalkai, Ariz./Cesar de la Cruz, Tucson, Ariz., 4.5, $7,656; 5. Keven Daniel, Franklin, Tenn./Chase Tryan, Helena, Mont., 4.6, $4,712; 6. Colby Lovell, Madisonville, Texas/Russell Cardoza, Terrebonne, Ore., 4.7, $2,945; 7. (tie) Clay Tryan, Billings, Mont./Travis Graves, Jay, Okla., and Spencer Mitchell, Colusa, Calif./Dakota Kirchenschlager, Stephenville, Texas, 9.3 each; 9. Brock Hanson, Casa Grande, Ariz./Ryan Motes, Weatherford, Texas, 9.6; 10. Dustin Bird, Cut Bank, Mont./Paul Eaves, Millsap, Texas, 14.6; 11. Chad Masters, Cedar Hill, Tenn./Clay O'Brien Cooper, Gardnerville, Nev., 14.7; 12. (tie) Luke Brown, Stephenville, Texas/Martin Lucero, Stephenville, Texas; Travis Tryan, Billings, Mont./Jake Long, Coffeyville, Kan.; Charly Crawford, Prineville, Ore./Jim Ross Cooper, Monument, N.M., and Turtle Powell, Stephenville, Texas/Dugan Kelly, Paso Robles, Calif., NT.

Saddle bronc riding: 1. (tie) Jesse Wright, Milford, Utah, on Frontier Rodeo's Let Er Rip, and Jake Wright, Milford, Utah, on Bar T Rodeo's Big John, 87 points, $16,343 each; 3. Wade Sundell, Boxholm, Iowa, 85, $10,895; 4. Cody Taton, Corona, N.M., 83.5, $7,656; 5. Sterling Crawley, College Station, Texas, 80.5, $4,712; 6. Cody Wright, Milford, Utah, 79.5, $2,945; 7. Cody DeMoss, Heflin, La., 78; 8. Cole Elshere, Faith, S.D., 77; 9. Chad Ferley, Oelrichs, S.D., 76.5; 10. Taos Muncy, Corona, N.M., 75.5; 11. Cort Scheer, Elsmere, Neb., 71; 12. Tyrell Smith, Cascade, Mont., 65.5; 13. (tie) Jacobs Crawley, College Station, Texas; Bradley Harter, Weatherford, Texas, and Isaac Diaz, Davie, Fla., NS.

Tie-down roping: 1. Cody Ohl, Hico, Texas, 7.1 seconds, $18,257; 2. Justin Maass, Giddings, Texas, 7.2, $14,429; 3. Adam Gray, Seymour, Texas, 7.4, $10,895; 4. Clint Robinson, Spanish Fork, Utah, 7.6, $7,656; 5. Matt Shiozawa, Chubbuck, Idaho, 7.8, $4,712; 6. Tuf Cooper, Decatur, Texas, 8.0, $2,945; 7. (tie) Cory Solomon, Prairie View, Texas, and Shane Hanchey, Sulphur, La., 8.2 each; 9. Clif Cooper, Decatur, Texas, 8.4; 10. Bradley Bynum, Sterling City, Texas, 8.6; 11. (tie) Ryan Jarrett, Comanche, Okla., and Monty Lewis, Hereford, Texas, 8.8 each; 13. Fred Whitfield, Hockley, Texas, 9.0; 14. Houston Hutto, Tomball, Texas, 9.8; 15. Hunter Herrin, Apache, Okla., 17.3.

Barrel racing: 1. Mary Walker, Ennis, Texas, 13.69 seconds, $18,257; 2. Kelli Tolbert, Hooper, Utah, 13.73, $14,429; 3. Lindsay Sears, Nanton, Alberta, 13.76, $10,895; 4. (tie) Sherry Cervi, Marana, Ariz.; Lisa Lockhart, Oelrichs, S.D., and Benette Barrington-Little, Ardmore, Okla., 13.82, $5,104 each; 7. Brittany Pozzi, Victoria, Texas, 13.91; 8. (tie) Brenda Mays, Terrebonne, Ore., and Trula Churchill, Valentine, Neb., 13.93 each; 10. Nikki Steffes, Vale, S.D., 14.03; 11. Kaley Bass, Kissimmee, Fla., 14.06; 12. Lee Ann Rust, Stephenville, Texas, 18.84; 13. Christina Richman, Glendora, Calif., 19.73; 14. Christy Loflin, Franktown, Colo., 19.77; 15. Carlee Pierce, Stephenville, Texas, 24.76.

Bull riding: 1. Cody Teel, Kountze, Texas, 88 points on Kesler Rodeo's Whiskey Jack, $18,257; 2. Beau Schroeder, China, Texas, 84.5, $14,429; 3. Shane Proctor, Grand Coulee, Wash., 83, $10,895; 4. Seth Glause, Cheyenne, Wyo., 82, $7,656; 5. Tag Elliott, Thatcher, Utah, 81.5, $4,712; 6. Brett Stall, Detroit Lakes, Minn., 78, $2,945; 7. (tie) J.W. Harris, Mullin, Texas; Trey Benton III, Rock Island, Texas; Ardie Maier, Timber Lake, S.D.; Trevor Kastner, Ardmore, Okla.; Tate Stratton, Kellyville, Okla.; Cody Samora, Cortez, Colo.; Cody Whitney, Sayre, Okla.; Clayton Savage, Casper, Wyo., and Kanin Asay, Powell, Wyo., NS.

Steer wrestlers meet with fans

(Posted Sunday, 11:12 a.m.)

Steer wrestlers Luke Branquinho, Jason Miller, Sean Mulligan and Jake Rinehart signing autographs at the Boot Barn in the convention center today.

Click to enlarge photo

Steer wrestlers Luke Branquinho, Jason Miller, Sean Mulligan and Jake Rinehart sign autographs Sunday morning in the Boot Barn in the Las Vegas Convention Center as Day 4 of the 10-day Wrangler National Finals Rodeo continues.

Barrel racer Mary Walker wins third consecutive round

(Posted Sunday, 12:52 a.m.)

Mary Walker accepting her third consecutive go-round buckle:

Click to enlarge photo

Mary Walker takes the stage to accept her third consecutive buckle for barrel racing Saturday night following Round 3 action at the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo in Las Vegas.

Tie-down roper Cody Ohl wins Round 3

(Posted Sunday, 12:16 a.m.)

Cody Ohl is happy to win the round tonight!

Click to enlarge photo

Cody Ohl, Hico, Tex., is recognized Saturday night on stage after finishing first in tie-down roping in the third go-round of action at the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo in Las Vegas.

Erich Rogers and Kory Koontz to each join new roping teams

(Posted Saturday, 11:30 p.m.)

CINCH JEANS' and Heel-O-Matic Training Systems' Erich Rogers and his partner, Kory Koontz, broke some news to us in the press room tonight. Erich will rope next year with Cory Petska, and Kory will rope with header Brock Hanson. We talked to Erich and Kory about it after their win.

Watch their interview here:

Join the Discussion:

Check this out for a full explanation of our conversion to the LiveFyre commenting system and instructions on how to sign up for an account.

Full comments policy