Las Vegas Sun

September 23, 2017

Currently: 72° — Complete forecast

Mojave’s Flanagan, Virgin Valley’s Bowler named Division I-A players of the year


Steve Marcus

Virgin Valley’s Dee Bowler carries the ball during a game between Virgin Valley High School and Moapa Valley High School in Overton on Friday, Oct. 14, 2011. The Moapa Pirates shut out the Bulldogs 18-0.

Prep Sports Now

Liberty controversy; Gorman dominance

Las Vegas Sun sports reporters Ray Brewer and Case Keefer get one final football discussion in before the end of the season. They look back on the semifinals and move on to the state championship.

Mojave High junior running back Ty Flanagan and Virgin Valley senior running back/safety Dee Bowler were selected by coaches as the Division I-A players of the year for Southern Nevada.

Flanagan rushed for 1,160 yards and 11 touchdowns to help the Rattlers reach the postseason for the second straight season. Bowler was all over the field for Virgin Valley, rushing for 427 yards and 10 touchdowns, and catching 53 passes for 647 yards and seven touchdowns. On defense, he finished with 75 tackles and three interceptions, helping the Bulldogs advance to the regional semifinals.

Moapa Valley, which was undefeated until falling in the state semifinals, had the Lineman of the Year in senior Mat McDermand and the MVP Defense in senior linebacker Justin Hughes. The MVP Offense went to Virgin Valley senior quarterback Garrett Leavitt, who completed 60-percent of his passes for 2,665 yards and 30 touchdowns. He also rushed for seven touchdowns.

Division I-A state champion Faith Lutheran High had eight players selected to the first-team all-Southern Nevada, including linebackers Ben Flandermeyer and Danny Otuwa. The duo helped the Crusaders hold Lowry scoreless in the state championship game, giving Faith Lutheran its first state championship.

Other Faith Lutheran defenders picked were defensive lineman Hayden Solis and safety Tyler Mahan. The Cruasders offensive players selected included: wide receiver Vinny DeGeorge, kicker Trent Dolby, and offensive lineman Austin Prather and John Molchon.

Moapa Valley had four more players picked, highlighted by two-way lineman Sam Rebman and linebacker/running back Jared Repp being tabbed on both sides of the ball. The Pirates’ tight end Tyler Zobrist and defensive back Jeremy Waite were also part of the first-team.

Desert Pines, which surrendered a double-digit lead in the regional semifinals against eventual state-champion Faith Lutheran, had multiple players selected. Recent UNLV verbal-commit Tim Hough was picked at wide receiver and defensive back, and Iquan Corsey was a two-way selection at quarterback and safety.

Other Jags on the first-team include running back Eric Wilkes, kick returner Malik Davis.

Clark, which reached the playoff for the first time in more than a decade, had two players picked in sophomore running back Milan Dixon and offensive lineman Jesse Samaniego. Virgin Valley also had two players on the team in defensive lineman Harold Caswell and wide receiver Devonte Milligan.

Boulder City defensive lineman Brooks Roe and Western punter Qwayjon Walker were also selected on the first-team.

Ray Brewer can be reached at 990-2662 or [email protected]. Follow Ray on Twitter at

Join the Discussion:

Check this out for a full explanation of our conversion to the LiveFyre commenting system and instructions on how to sign up for an account.

Full comments policy