Las Vegas Sun

January 23, 2018

Currently: 53° — Complete forecast

Henderson, North Las Vegas, Mesquite offer early voting ahead of June 4 election

Early voting is underway for three municipal election races not settled during the April primaries.

There is one race each in Henderson, North Las Vegas and Mesquite and voters in these cities have the next week to cast an early ballot before the June 4 general election.

In Henderson Sandy DiGiacomo and Mark Stevens face off for the Department 1 Municipal Court judge seat. Stevens won the primary with 41.9 percent of the vote, besting DiGiacomo by 189 votes.

Mayor Andy Hafen and Councilman John Marz both won re-election to the Henderson City Council outright by garnering more than 50 percent of the primary votes.

All Henderson residents are eligible to vote for the judgeship and have a number of locations they can do so early at.

The City Clerk’s Office, 240 Water St., will be open for voting from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday.

Early voting also will take place at the Galleria at Sunset mall in the lower level Kohl’s court starting Saturday and running through next Friday. Voting will take place there from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. each day, except on Sunday, May 26, when it runs from 11 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Mobile polling locations are rotating around the city and are open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. For a complete listing of locations and times, click here.

In North Las Vegas, one city council seat remains unfilled after Anita Wood was re-elected to represent Ward 3 and John Lee ousted Shari Buck in the mayoral race during the primaries.

Isaac Barron and Jared Hardy, both teachers for Clark County School District, are competing to represent Ward 1 in the general election after Barron received 45 percent of the vote to Hardy’s 25 percent in the primary.

Only residents of Ward 1 are eligible to vote in the race and they can do so at North Las Vegas City Hall, 2250 N. Las Vegas Blvd., from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday.

Neighborhood voting will be available from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. at a variety of locations depending on the date. For a complete listing of locations and dates, click here.

Finally in Mesquite, two council members at large will be chosen from a pool of four candidates – Richard Green, W.G. Withelder, Cynthia Delaney and Sandra Ramaker. Early voting in Mesquite can be done between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m. Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday at the Mesquite Deuce 2 Building, 150 N. Yucca St.

Join the Discussion:

Check this out for a full explanation of our conversion to the LiveFyre commenting system and instructions on how to sign up for an account.

Full comments policy