Las Vegas Sun

January 17, 2018

Currently: 64° — Complete forecast

Nevada Supreme Court’s Gibbons, Pickering to run unopposed for re-election

Chief Justice Mark Gibbons and Justice Katrina Pickering will each win re-election to the Nevada Supreme Court since no one had submitted candidacy to oppose either justice by the filing deadline of 5 p.m. Friday.

Gibbons, 63, has been on the court since 2002 and is the longest-serving justice. He was a district judge in Clark County before being elected to the seven-member Supreme Court. Pickering, 51, will win a second six-year term.

Justices earn a base salary of $170,000 a year.

This is the third consecutive election in which justices ran without opposition. Justices Michael Cherry, Michael Douglas and Nancy Saitta were elected in 2012 without opponents. Justices Ron Parraguirre and James Hardesty were also not challenged in 2010.

Carson District Judges Todd Russell and James Wilson will also be unopposed this year. Their district includes Carson City and Storey County.

Join the Discussion:

Check this out for a full explanation of our conversion to the LiveFyre commenting system and instructions on how to sign up for an account.

Full comments policy