Las Vegas Sun

July 20, 2017

Currently: 99° — Complete forecast


With election day here, voter turnout near record lows


Sam Morris

A very light turnout is seen during voting at the Winchester Cultural Center Tuesday, June 10, 2014.

2014 Elections

Rylynn Berkey assists her grandmother April Hiett as she casts her ballot at Las Vegas High Tuesday, June 10, 2014. Launch slideshow »

Today is primary election day, and polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Voters must go to the county’s assigned polling locations. To find the right polling location in Clark County, search the county elections website.

Election results should be in about an hour after the last voters cast their ballots, Joe Gloria, Clark County registrar of voters, said.

With no star-studded races on the ballot, voter turnout is expected to be low. Secretary of State Ross Miller expects 15 to 20 percent of registered voters to cast ballots.

Gloria doesn’t expect high turnout either.

“I will go out on a limb and say we are going to hit 15 percent total,” he said.

The early voting and mail-in voting numbers have reinforced the predictions, said Eric Herzik, a political science professor at UNR.

“It could be over 15, but we’re still looking at a record low turnout,” he said. “The early voting number was anemic. I don’t see that there is a pent up ‘I am waiting till election day’ mood from voters.”

Gov. Brian Sandoval is coasting to re-election, and there’s no other big race on the ballot.

“None of these races and none of these candidates have done anything to get people to the polls,” Herzik said.

Clark County had 61,774 residents vote early. An additional 14,376 did early mail-in ballots, Gloria said. Statewide, 111,604 voted early or by mail, according to the Secretary of State’s office.

Here a few primary races to keep an eye on:

Lieutenant governor: The Republican primary between Mark Hutchison and Sue Lowden. The winner will face Democrat Lucy Flores in the November general election.

Congressional District 4: The Republican primary between Cresent Hardy and Niger Innis. The winner will face Democrat incumbent Rep. Steven Horsford.

State Senate District 8: The Democratic primary between Garrett Leduff and Marilyn Dondero Loop.

State Senate District 20: The Republican primary between Michael Roberson and Carl Bunce.

State Assembly District 3: The Democratic primary between Daniel Alires, Nelson Araujo, Chris Barry, Felipe Rodriguez, Matthew Tramp and Nakia Woodson.

Join the Discussion:

Check this out for a full explanation of our conversion to the LiveFyre commenting system and instructions on how to sign up for an account.

Full comments policy