Las Vegas Sun

June 24, 2019

Currently: 91° — Complete forecast

Commissioners near decision on filling legislative vacancies, including for late brothel owner Hof’s seat


Steve Marcus

Brothel owner and Assembly candidate Dennis Hof poses outside the Moonlite BunnyRanch brothel in Mound House, six miles east of Carson City, in this June 16, 2018, file photo. Hof died Tuesday, Oct. 16, 2018, at age 72.

Three vacant legislative seats are expected to be filled this week, with commissioners choosing from a pool of dozens of applicants.

Clark, Nye and Lincoln counties are making their nominations early this week with a final decision Friday for the Republican who will represent Assembly District 36, where voters elected the late brothel owner Dennis Hof.

Clark County is scheduled to pick replacements tomorrow for Sens. Tick Segerblom, a newly elected Clark County commissioner, and Aaron Ford, who won his bid for Attorney General.

Conservative Nye County takes up the nearly two thirds of the Assembly District and will carry the most weight in the final decision, per state law. Just over a third of the district is in Clark County.

The 19 applications for the seat include 13 Pahrump residents, as well as Blue Diamond resident Jared Fisher, who lost to Adam Laxalt in this year’s Republican gubernatorial primary.

Assemblyman Chris Brooks is among the nine applicants to replace Segerblom. His appointment to the Senate would kick off another application process to fill his Assembly seat.

For Ford’s seat, the 10 applications include Kevin Child, who lost his reelection bid for the Clark County School District and has been banned from district property amid complaints about his behavior.

Senate District 3 applicants also include Nancy Ramirez Ayala, Alison Brasier, Larissa Drohobyczer, Dean Richard Lauer, Jr., Karen S. Layne, Jennifer Muñoz, Zenda Marie Shepherd, and Lindsey Warner.

Senate District 11 candidates also include Lizbeth Arias, Julie Elaine Bernell-Ostrovsky, Rose G. Donahue, Reuben D'Silva, Christopher John Hardin, Dallas Harris, Arlene Heshmati, Cameron Homer Miller, and Ngoc Duy V. Nguyen.

Tina L. Bond-Kuglin, Joseph J. Bradley, Joseph M. Burdzinski, Brigitte Dubin, Thomas "Tom" Duryea, William S. Gray Sr., Walter S. Grudzinski, Gregory T. Hafen II, Jonathan Hernandez, Adam Westley Huckeby, Bailey Kesl, Brent Leavitt, Denise Mraz, Patrick J. Nary, Charles R. Navarro IV, Nathan Taylor, Sandra Faye Tulley, and Wayne Villines are running for the Assembly seat.