Las Vegas Sun

September 20, 2019

Currently: 70° — Complete forecast

Comedy stars come out for George Carlin

The late comedian George Carlin will be honored in November by fellow comics Jon Stewart, Bill Maher, Garry Shandling and Lily Tomlin at the Kennedy Center’s posthumous presentation of the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor. Carlin was named this year’s Mark Twain honoree in June, one week before he died at age 71.

According to, other participants will include Denis Leary, Joan Rivers, Lewis Black, Richard Belzer and Margaret Cho. The November 10 event will be taped and aired later on PBS.

The Mark Twain prize has previously been awarded to Richard Pryor, Jonathan Winters, Carl Reiner, Whoopi Goldberg, Bob Newhart, Lily Tomlin, Lorne Michaels, Steve Martin, Neil Simon and Billy Crystal.

Join the Discussion:

Check this out for a full explanation of our conversion to the LiveFyre commenting system and instructions on how to sign up for an account.

Full comments policy