Las Vegas Sun

October 17, 2017

Currently: 57° — Complete forecast

Guinn breaks tradition, will skip Gibbons’ inauguration

CARSON CITY - Cool relations between Gov. Kenny Guinn and Gov.-elect Jim Gibbons will carry over to inauguration day. Guinn is going to skip Tuesday's inauguration ceremonies for Gibbons, breaking a tradition of 35 years.

Guinn's press secretary Steve George said Guinn will not attend the proceedings on the front steps of the Capitol.

George said the governor believes the inauguration is "all about the next governor." He said the attention should be focused on Gibbons, not the outgoing governor.

Although both Guinn and Gibbons are Republicans, they have hardly been tight. Guinn kept his distance from the Gibbons campaign, and the two have met just twice since the election to discuss the transition.

Outgoing governors have attended the induction of their successors since 1971, with one exception. Gov. Bob Miller was ill with strep throat when Guinn took office.

State Archivist Guy Rocha said Gov. Mike O'Callaghan started the tradition when he invited the three living former governors - Charles Russell, Grant Sawyer and Paul Laxalt - to the 1971 inauguration. All three attended.

O'Callaghan attended the inauguration of his successor, Bob List, and List attended the ceremony of Richard Bryan, who defeated him.

Gibbons and the other five state constitutional officers will be sworn in Monday by Chief Justice Bill Maupin in a small ceremony at the Nevada Supreme Court. The Constitution says they must take the oath of office on the first Monday in January, which falls on a holiday next year.

Tuesday's inauguration proceedings will be ceremonial, with Maupin again administering the oaths.

The other officers taking the oath will be Brian Krolicki as lieutenant governor, Ross Miller as secretary of state, Kate Marshall as treasurer, Kim Wallin as controller and Catherine Cortez Masto as attorney general.