Las Vegas Sun

November 20, 2017

Currently: 56° — Complete forecast

School Board elects new officers

Members of the Clark County School Board on Thursday elected three new officers to represent them for 2009.

Terri Janison, who represents Summerlin, Mount Charleston and Indian Springs, was appointed as president. She has served the last two years as vice president.

Janison was appointed to the School Board in 2005, and has been active in various areas of education, including the parent-teacher associations at her children's schools, the Bond Oversight Committee and the Empowerment Design Team.

Carolyn Edwards was elected to serve as vice president. She represents the southwestern portion of the Las Vegas Valley, including Blue Diamond, Goodsprings and Sandy Valley.

Edwards was elected to the board in 2006. Last year, she served as the board's clerk. She is a founder and former board member of Nevadans for Quality Education, a nonprofit organization committed to improving education in Nevada, and served on the Attendance Zone Advisory Commission for several years.

Sheila Moulton, who represents east Las Vegas, was elected to the position of clerk. Moulton is currently the second longest-serving School Board member, having served since 1998.

She has lived in Nevada for nearly 30 years, with each of her six children graduating from schools within the district.

Join the Discussion:

Check this out for a full explanation of our conversion to the LiveFyre commenting system and instructions on how to sign up for an account.

Full comments policy