Las Vegas Sun

January 18, 2018

Currently: 65° — Complete forecast

Governor names members of 150th Anniversary Commission

CARSON CITY — Gov. Brian Sandoval has named 13 members to the 150th Anniversary Commission to the headed by Lt. Gov. Brian Krolicki.

The commission will plan events to mark the 150th birthday of Nevada’s addmission to the Union in 1864.

Of the 13 members, six will be from Southern Nevada.

They are former Las Vegas Mayor Oscar Goodman; Myron Martin, president and CEO of the Smith Center for the Performing Arts; UNLV Professor Andrew Kirk; Las Vegas Review-Journal Publisher Bob Brown; Lori Nelson, vice president of corporate communications for Station Casinos; and Randall Snow, chief strategic officer for R&R Partners.

Others on the commission are Co-chair Kathleen “Neena” Laxalt of Reno; former state Treasurer and Historian Patricia Cafferata of Reno; Sherry Rupert, the executive director of the Nevada Indian Commission; television journalist and personality John Tyson of Reno; Donald Newman, executive director of the Elko Convention and Visitors Authority; and Reno lawyer Bud Hicks.

Join the Discussion:

Check this out for a full explanation of our conversion to the LiveFyre commenting system and instructions on how to sign up for an account.

Full comments policy