Las Vegas Sun

January 20, 2018

Currently: 53° — Complete forecast

County Government:

Sisolak wins election as county commission chairman


Justin M. Bowen

Clark County Commissioner Steve Sisolak

Updated Monday, Jan. 7, 2013 | 5:17 p.m.

Steve Sisolak is the new chairman of the Clark County Commission.

He was elected to the post Monday morning by his peers in 4-2 vote with Commissioners Tom Collins and Lawrence Weekly opposed. Commissioner Chris Giunchigliani, whose flight bound for Las Vegas was delayed with technical difficulties, was absent.

Commissioners then elected Commissioner Larry Brown as vice chairman in 4-2 vote, same split as the vote for Sisolak. Brown's election came after a motion by Weekly to nominate Commissioner Mary Beth Scow as vice chairwoman failed.

Sisolak replaces Susan Brager, who finished her two-year term to lead the panel.

Sisolak was elected to represent District A on the County Commission in 2008 and began serving a four-year term on Jan. 5, 2009. He was re-elected to a four-year term in November.

His biography on the Clark County website notes Sisolak served 10 years on the Nevada Board of Regents, from 1998 to 2008, before his election to the commission.

He earned a bachelor’s of science degree in business from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee and a master’s in business administration from UNLV.

In other board reshuffling, Brager was appointed to replace Collins on the Clark County Water Reclamation District board.

Join the Discussion:

Check this out for a full explanation of our conversion to the LiveFyre commenting system and instructions on how to sign up for an account.

Full comments policy