Las Vegas Sun

November 24, 2017

Currently: 67° — Complete forecast


District names new principals for 3 struggling schools

New principals will take over three struggling schools in an attempt to get them on the track to success, the Clark County School District said.

The district made the announcement Saturday, saying the new principals will receive more resources, including a longer school day and a specialized literacy program.

Grant Hanevold will take over at Sunrise Mountain High School, Lori Sarabyn will lead Cimarron-Memorial High School and Debra Jones will take over at Elizabeth Wilhelm Elementary School, the School District said.

“The turnaround model is one outgoing Superintendent Dwight D. Jones believed in,” Interim Superintendent Pat Skorkowsky said. “We’ve seen amazing results with some of our early turnaround schools, and I’m confident these three principals will accomplish great things. I’m looking forward to the leadership and vision they will bring to their respective campuses.”

Hanevold has served as principal at Kathleen and Tim Harney Middle School and Moapa Valley High School since 2003. He holds a master’s degree in education with a specialty in administration and supervision from the University of Phoenix.

Sarabyn is the principal of Brian and Teri Cram Middle School in North Las Vegas. Her experience includes stints as assistant principal at Cheyenne High School, Canyon Springs High School and Theron L. Swainston Middle School. She has a master’s degree in educational leadership from UNLV.

Jones is the principal at Stanford Elementary School, where she has served since 2007 and previously served as assistant principal at Daniel Goldfarb Elementary School. She has a master’s degree in curriculum and instruction from the University of Phoenix and an educational specialist degree in leadership and administration from Nova Southeastern University.

Join the Discussion:

Check this out for a full explanation of our conversion to the LiveFyre commenting system and instructions on how to sign up for an account.

Full comments policy