July 17, 2019 Currently: 88° | Complete forecast

Rebels Quick Hits:

UNLV’s McCaw named second team all-conference and all-defense


L.E. Baskow

UNLV guard Patrick McCaw (22) dives between the legs of Wyoming guard Josh Adams (14) for a loose ball during their game at the Thomas & Mack Center on Saturday, February 27, 2016.

UNLV’s Pat McCaw was named to the coaches’ second team and all-defensive team, the Mountain West announced this morning.

The league’s 11 coaches submitted their ballots for three all-conference teams, plus the individual awards, and they named Fresno State senior Marvelle Harris the Mountain West Player of the Year. In the preseason, the league’s media pegged Harris as the player of the year, but a separate postseason media ballot named Wyoming’s Josh Adams as the league’s top player.

The only other key difference between the coaches and media postseason honors was that the coaches had San Diego State sophomore Trey Kell on the first team while the media had Kell on the third team, with no Aztecs on the first team. Both sides handed Coach of the Year to San Diego State’s Steve Fisher, who won the award for the fourth time.

McCaw has been UNLV’s best overall player the entire season, as well as one of the league’s top defenders. In league games, McCaw ranked second in the Mountain West in steals and third in assist-to-turnover ratio while averaging 13.6 points per game.

Here’s a look at the full coaches honors:


Josh Adams, Sr., G, Wyoming

Elijah Brown, So., G, New Mexico

Marvelle Harris, Sr., G, Fresno State

Trey Kell, So., G, San Diego State

James Webb III, Sr., F, Boise State


Marqueze Coleman, Sr., G, UNR

Patrick McCaw, So., G, UNLV

Antwan Scott, Sr., G, Colorado State

Winston Shepard, Sr., F, San Diego State

Tim Williams, Jr., F, New Mexico


Jeremy Hemsley, Fr., G, San Diego State

Jalen Moore, Jr., W, Utah State

Cameron Oliver, Fr., F, UNR

Chris Smith, Sr., G, Utah State

Mikey Thompson, Sr., G, Boise State






Skylar Spencer, Sr., F, San Diego State

Player of the Year — Harris

Defensive Player of the Year — Spencer

Freshman of the Year — Hemsley

Newcomer of the Year — Brown

Sixth Man of the Year — Brandon Clarke, Fr., G, San José State

Coach of the Year — Steve Fisher, San Diego State

Taylor Bern can be reached at 948-7844 or [email protected]. Follow Taylor on Twitter at twitter.com/taylorbern.

Join the Discussion:

Check this out for a full explanation of our conversion to the LiveFyre commenting system and instructions on how to sign up for an account.

Full comments policy