Las Vegas Sun

April 23, 2024

Nevada will strengthen vehicle emissions standards as ‘Clean Cars’ state

Electric Vehicle Charging

Wade Vandervort

A Charge Point electric vehicle charging station at Downtown Summerlin Tuesday, Oct. 12, 2021.

Nevada became the country’s 16th “Clean Cars” state on Friday after the State Legislative Commission passed the regulation on an 8-4 vote.

Clean Cars Nevada will provide Nevadans with more choices for electric and plug-in hybrid vehicles beginning 2024 and will strengthen vehicle emissions standards to curb transportation pollution, Gov. Steve Sisolak’s office announced Friday.

“Clean Cars Nevada is a huge victory for the Silver State,” Sisolak said in the statement. “Transportation is the No. 1 source of greenhouse gas emissions in Nevada and drives disproportionate pollution burdens for historically underserved communities.

“As Nevada continues to grapple with the many impacts of climate change – including record-breaking heatwaves, drought, and massive wildfires across the West — advancing climate-forward policies and programs that reduce greenhouse gas emissions and improve air quality are more critical than ever to ensure a healthy, sustainable future for Nevada.”

The regulation will help advance Nevada’s climate action and sustainability goals and reduce harmful air pollution from cars and trucks on Nevada roads, the statement from the governor’s office said.

While the regulation will increase the availability of low and zero-emission vehicles, it will not require anyone to give up their current vehicle or choose one that does not work for their lifestyle or business needs, the statement reads.

The Nevada Division of Environmental Protection (NDEP) led Clean Cars Nevada, which incorporated input from auto manufacturers and dealers, conservation groups and residents, the statement reads.

Other states to adopt Clean Cars standards include California, New Jersey, Connecticut, Washington, Vermont, New York, Maine, Rhode Island, Massachusetts, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Maryland, Delaware, Colorado and Washington D.C., according to the Maryland Department of the Environment.